• Internetly
  • Posts
  • Call yourself a writer before you're ready ✍️

Call yourself a writer before you're ready ✍️

Even if it feels downright embarrassing

Hi there. 👋 You’re reading Internetly, a newsletter that helps freelance writers grow their business by honing their craft and being creatively mindful. To join 1,948 writers, hit subscribe.

Hey there,

It’s the summer of 2020 when I attend a (socially distanced) rooftop get-together in Manhattan. I’m chatting to a man I’ve just met when he asks me what I do for a living.

For weeks, I’d been building up the courage to call myself a “freelance writer.” I’d published articles on Medium, but…I’d never earned real income from my writing (the $1.37 I got from Medium that June didn’t count).

“I’m a freelance writer,” I announced tentatively.

“Oh, that’s cool,” he replied.

His anti-climatic response left me feeling sky-high. Yes! Call yourself a writer before you’re ready. That’s how it’s done, Alice.

I ditched the party to meet my boyfriend at 82 Stanton for dinner. Two people join us — one of them a friend, the other a blonde girl I’d never seen before. The conversation is friendly, until over truffle fries and IPAs, the blonde turns to me and says, “So, what do you do for work?”

“I’m a freelance writer,” I reply without hesitation.

She puts down her beer. “No, I mean what do you really do…you know, for money.”

I start turning red. “Well, I babysit a few days a week….”

“Ah, there it is,” she replies while dunking her fry in ketchup.

Ouch. Ego bruised. I retreat to my cave, humiliated and vowing I’ll never call myself a freelance writer again until I’ve earned six figures, have bylines in The New York Times, and published a Twilight-esque saga.

So often, we don’t see ourselves as the person we want to be because of the fear from these kinds of jibes. Who are we to think we can be a writer, a dancer, a designer, a leader, whatever, until we have the accolades to prove it?

But this mindset is backwards. Because once you see yourself as [insert ideal self here], opportunities tend to follow – not the other way around.

  • The person who calls themselves a freelance writer is more likely to cold pitch than the person who doesn’t.

  • The person who calls themselves a solo traveler is more likely to buy the one-way ticket than the person who doesn’t.

  • The person who calls themselves a creative is more likely to be prolific than the person who doesn’t.

This isn’t to say you can call yourself an astronaut or a doctor without the proper credentials (use your common sense, folks).

Rather, it’s about getting yourself in the mindset – asking yourself, “What would a [blank] do?” and using that lens to guide your decisions.

Within three months of my encounter with blondie, I landed my first three clients and quit my babysitting job. Despite the sting of embarrassment, I’d say calling myself a writer before I was ready was worth it – and I don’t doubt it’d be the same case for you.

🗞 Newsletter of the Week

Friday Freelance Tips is a deep dive into what it’s REALLY like to be a freelancer — warts and all! Each week, pro content writer Lizzie shares the projects she’s worked on, how many hours she worked, and her total revenue, alongside an actionable tip you can use to grow your freelance business. If you’re ready to go behind the scenes of a 10+ year freelance business without the fluff and pomp, get yourself signed up!

✍️ Quick Writing Tip

Use adverbs.*

“Wait, that’s a terrible idea. Isn’t the basic writing advice to avoid adverbs?”

Yes – but using contradictory adverbs can add a fun twist to your writing.

❌ She whispered quietly.

✅ She whispered noisily.

❌ He smiled joyfully.

✅ He smiled mockingly.

🥒 Content Diet

🙅‍♀️ I Don’t Compete For Business and You Shouldn’t Either by Cole Schafer — Did a potential client ask you for an unpaid test assignment? Copywriter Cole Schafer explains why that idea is terrible (and downright disrespectful).

✍️ Persuasive Writing in 3 Steps by Ryan Law — If raising your rates is on your to-do list this year (it should be!) knowing how to write persuasively is a must. Luckily, Ryan’s article will give you the proven strategies to learn just that.

💰 How I Earned $10K in July as a Freelance Content Marketing Writer by Jennifer GregoryJennifer breaks down exactly how many clients she has + her rates. (Side note: How this woman can write a $2,500 ebook in three days is beyond me).

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a beautiful week, wherever you are. I’m headed to San Francisco go to Outside Lands Music Festival – and yes, I’m 100% plan on crying happy tears when Odesza comes on (IYKYK).

And if you enjoyed this newsletter, why not share it with a writer friend? 🙂 

Stay Creative,

Alice 💌

Join the conversation

or to participate.