• Internetly
  • Posts
  • Our Level of Success is Parallel to Our Level of Personal Development | Internetly Vol. 26

Our Level of Success is Parallel to Our Level of Personal Development | Internetly Vol. 26

On Hal Eldrod's "The Miracle Morning," your elusive creative genius, and finding a new freelance writing coach.

Hi there,

Apologies for being a day (or two) late, but I made it.

I was in Los Angeles over the weekend and didn’t take the time to plop down in front of my laptop. I’m currently writing this newsletter over Sioux Falls, near the Missouri River on a Delta flight. 

I spontaneously decided to go to LA as it was my old college roommate’s birthday. Tara turned 25 (🎉) and we spent an incredible weekend hiking Malibu trails, dancing under fireworks at a Porter Robinson concert, and swimming through the alcoves of Redondo Beach. 

I want to take a second to talk about Tara. She’s a classic LA girl. She loves the sun. Vegan for a large chunk of her life. Spends days off the grid to backpack in Sequoia National Park or camp in Joshua Tree. 

But more importantly, she is incredibly resilient and strong. In 2019, Tara lost her mom after a long battle with a grueling chronic illness. It’s the kind of tragedy that knocks you off orbit from normal life.

And what could’ve destroyed her ended up shaping who she is today. She turned 2019 into a fruitful year, using her anguish to dive into her soul and pull out this ethereal creativity that helped her ease her pain. She wrote. She cried. She journaled. And then cried some more. Lots more.

Two years later Tara is more radiant than ever and recently got a tattoo on her forearm to commemorate her mom.

It’s ironic, considering she was the type of parent who wouldn’t let their child get piercings or be out past 9 PM. But the tattoo is beautiful, an iris flower drawn in with hues of gold and purple, her mom’s favorite color. A watchful eye rests in the middle. “Her eye is in there, watching me forever,” Tara says.

She’s certainly right. 💜

🖼 On Becoming a Prolific Creator

This Week: You Become The Habits You Adopt

Have you heard of the “Miracle Morning” by Hal Elrod?

If you’re a self-development dweeb like me you probably have. It’s a tedious morning routine that consists of six steps that are “guaranteed to change your life.”

There are typical recommendations in there. Meditation. Exercise. Journaling. The whole shebang. But what stood out in Elrod’s writing wasn’t his morning routine. It was the reason behind why he started it in the first place.

He writes:

“Our level of success is always going to parallel our level of personal development.

Until we dedicate time each day to developing ourselves into the person we need to be to create the life we want, success is always going to be a struggle to attain.”

It’s a bit bland at first glance, but I encourage you to go deeper for a moment.

The underlying message is to become the person you’d like to be, you need to spend time cultivating the appropriate habits.

And if you’re trying to become a prolific creator, there are loads of habits you can instill.

Here are some of mine:

  1. Capture your ideas. When an idea jostles through you, grab your pen and run. Write it down! Your brain is meant to have ideas, not hold them. Get in the habit of grabbing your fleeting ideas by the tail.

  2. Find your “sacred hours.” Set aside a time each day where you can create distraction-free. For me, this is from 8 - 9 AM. Show up every day. During this slot of time, no one is allowed to reach you, and you’re not allowed to do anything else other than create.

  3. Curate your content diet. If you’re following an account that makes you feel shitty, uninspired, or jealous, unfollow them. Get in the habit of discarding what’s not serving your digital buffet.

As Elrod says, discipline creates lifestyle. Instill these habits before you feel like you are a creator, and watch how you effortlessly slip into that identity.

🥒 Content Diet

  1. Your Elusive Creative Genius by Elizabeth Gilbert 

This Ted Talk with Elizabeth Gilbert is magical. 

“Magical” is not an adjective you’d use to describe a Ted Talk, but Liz has a way with words. The author of NYC Best Seller Eat Pray Love recounts her anguish of creating anew. How would she be able to top the freakish success of EPL? 

This led her to re-examine her relationship with creativity. Specifically: Why do we see creativity as an innate trait? What if it wasn’t a personality trait, but rather a divine, otherwordly entity that pays us the occasional visit? 

This Ted Talk is worth every delicious minute. Prepare to marvel as Liz inspires us to release our toxic relationship with creativity. 

✍🏼 Freelancing Journey

This Week: Leveling Up With a New Coach!

Good news! I just started working with a new freelance writing coach 🤩

Jenni Gritters is a veteran in the freelancing world and a true inspiration. She makes six figures without burning out and helps other writers do the same.

I discovered her last summer through her podcast, The Writer’s Co-Op Podcast. I remember listening to her tips while sitting on the New York Ferry headed to Rockaway. As the salty air blew through my hair, I’d think, “I wish one day I could run my own business, too.” 

A year later, I’m so proud of where I’ve come. But I’d be lying if I told you everything was under control. My business is full of loose ends. My work schedule (and tasks) are chaotic. I decided to hire Jenni to help me hit these few high-level goals: 

• Hit my first 10K month from freelance writing. 

• Zone in one a very specific writing niche (announcement coming soon 👀). 

• Not end most of my days with my brain feeling as fried as an egg or with my eyes sunken into my skull (burnout isn’t fun, folks). 

The awesome part is I’ll be able to share the lessons I learn with you all in this section, so stay tuned. Hopefully, we can crush some new milestones together :) 

That’s it, folks. 

Thanks for your patience as I deliver this newsletter a bit late. Don’t worry, I’m determined to ship out Internetly for a full year (at least!). You have my word! 

Dug this newsletter? Share it with a pal! 

See you soon. 

Have a beautiful week, 

Alice 💌

Join the conversation

or to participate.